All of P in one Post

It’s only fitting that I end this year, putting all my P experiences into one post. This year has been one of terrible PROCRASTINATION. (I believe the tendency to put things off runs in my genes: I know my sister and at least one cousin claim this gene deficiency as well.)

The primary motivtion to living the abc life is to consciously seek new experiences. I love doing this and truly believe it adds quality to my life.

So here is the recounting of my December “P” month.

2 points for PLUM PUDDING. While in San Francisco this month, I headed out to my favorite Irish bakery. They had samples of Plum Pudding – which I’d never tasted – and it was delicious. (Did you know there are no plums in this baby? It’s thought that back in the 17th century the word “plum” referred to raisins or other fruits.)

2 points for PITCH PERFECT, a dollar movie experience that paid off big. Thoroughly enjoyable if you like a capella and silly college musicals. This film doesn’t take itself seriously but was thoroughly entertaining and had us wishing we could sing like that and shake our booties too!

2 points for a cocktail combining PROSECCO and POMEGRANATE called Skinny Bubbles. Not bad, but not memorable either. The restaurant, Deno’s in Plano, was a new experience and a pleasant surprise. A bit pricey for what you get but I will return because the food was good, the place was comfortable and convenient for us and the service friendly and accommodating.

1 point for The PARIS Wife by PAULA McClain. Ever since I went to Paris two years ago, I gravitate to stories of this city. This book was about Ernest Hemingway and his first wife Hadley and all their fabulous literary friends: Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound and F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald to name a few. Not a lifestyle I could or would maintain, but an interesting read.

Attempted to try the restaurant Papa Lopez but they closed early that day so it was a no go because of their no show.

This month I have been PENSIVE, giving some thought to who I am, what I’m doing and what I want. Haven’t found the answers but I do know a few things – and thus launches my new MORE or LESS zone, which I will do monthly.

I will work on having MORE PATIENCE. I used to be quite a patient person but as I get older, I’m more quick to get annoyed or bothered with people or situations. Having patience makes your life much easier and I will make a conscious effort this coming year to recapture the more mellow Laura.

I want LESS PILES. Piles of paper and stuff are annoying. They have to go! But it’s not just stacks of material things. When you pile up stacks of feelings, they take a toll as well. By new motto: Let it slide. Let it go.

Well that’s it. Another year of the abc life. Can’t wait for Q month tomorrow.

Thank you all for following along and I truly love when you comment.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All of P in one Post

  1. Barbara says:

    Love the More or Less addition. I want Less overeating. I get in a whirlwhind of eating when I know I haven’t yet started to “diet” and that has to stop so Less of Me is what I will work on. Haven’t decided on the more portion yet.

    For my P month in addition to the drink we both had I saw the Life of Pi which was a delightful movie. I had been putting off reading the book for some reason but now I’m going to because I want to see how it compares.

    Also for P I looked up the Puffin. This is a bird I admire…she flaps her wings 400 times per minute! If I did that think of the ramifications!

    • abclauralife says:

      Glad you like the More or Less. But I use it with the letter of the month. I know you’re with me on “P” month, so Less Overeating could be changed to Less Pfood (just kidding). And I love the Puffin comment. The image of your wings flapping 400 times is hysterical…think I’m getting the “weakness’ from that image.

  2. Janice says:

    I am enjoying reading your posts! You’ve mentioned places in Plano and books I think I’ll have to check out.

  3. Laura's Son says:

    Just don’t throw away my piles, Ma! 🙂

  4. susanbright says:

    Time to reread Pride and Prejudice. one of my all time favorites!

Leave a Reply

