2 points for Justice; 2 more for Jael McHenry

Justice is not a town I visited nor a restaurant. It’s a recent documentary. Hot Coffee is a rivoting film that raises the question: is justice being served? It opens your eyes to the injustices and madness that surrounds our civil lawsuits by addressing the issues of frivolous lawsuits, pain and suffering caps and mandatory arbitration. Remember the incident where a woman was awarded $2.9 for spilling a cup of McDonald’s hot coffee on herself while in her car? Remember how you thought, what a joke? If you spill coffee while driving, you need to re-examine your common sense not sue the place where you bought the coffee? I do. And now I’m horrified at how wrong I was. There are several other cases that make you gasp. While Hot Coffee got my blood boiling, it also made me realize that I should no longer take anything at face value. Ironically, that goes for what’s presented in this movie as well. Question everything and then make your own conclusions.

The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry was a pleasant surprise. Not only did I discover a new author I admire but I learned more about Asperger’s syndrome. (A dear, childhood friend of mine has a daughter with Asperger’s, so getting to know this character helped me gain more understanding of her world)  Each chapter opens with a recipe, that when cooked by Ginny, brings back the ghost of the recipe’s original creator. Another novel about finding yourself and putting your life in balance (in this case after tragedy) but with a delightful new character and voice.

Since it is July 31, this is probably the final post for J. Wasn’t a particularly abundant month, but I tried new things and learned a lot. Now if I had just made some jambalaya…

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2 points for Justice; 2 more for Jael McHenry

  1. susanbright says:

    The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer is an amazing book! It takes place during WWII. if you like Historical Fiction, this is a must read!

    • abclauralife says:

      Too late for my J month but it’s on my list for O, which will be December. I’ve heard about that book, but it slipped off my radar. Thanks for the suggestion. Tomorrow I’m seeing The Help, which I know your blog has been a-buzz with the controversy. I’ll have to check out your poll at http://www.fridaymorningbookclub.com.

      • susanbright says:

        Hi Laura,
        The comments on my blog about The Help controversy have gotten out of control. I do not know where all of these people came from. I thought that the movie was very well done. What did you think?

Leave a Reply

